Book Review – Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Waiting for forever to find this book, I’m finally able to read it! I’ve been waiting for months since last year!   

Title: Red Queen 

Author: Victoria Aveyard 

Genre: YA Fantasy 

Reading timeline: 24 Jan 2016 –  30 Jan 2016

Synopsis: 

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart

—–

(I always try my best to give a spoiler-free review! So you can enjoy reading the book and my review with ease πŸ™‚

—–

Review: 

Wooooo. If you’ve followed my Goodreads account, you would know that most of my updates consists of this word ‘intense‘, cause gurl, you have no idea! 

Plot Development: This is the first time I’ve read any books by Victoria  Aveyard and I have to say, I’m super impressed. Unlike a lot of fantasy books, this plot is paced perfectly. I loved the build-up immensely, and I just couldn’t find a spot where I got bored! 

I really appreciate the way this whole world unfolds as it holds clarity yet is mysterious and dangerous all at the same time. 

Character built: I am awed by Victoria’s way of building up the characters. By the middle of the book, you would have already felt connected to the characters. I really have to give Victoria Aveyard her credits! 

Thoughts on the entirety of the story: The world in the Stilts (where Mare was raised from) is already huge. Jesus the plot twist almost killed me. This world that Victoria Aveyard created just keeps getting bigger. Now, this book ends with the revealing of another huge yet dangerous world that is waiting to be explored by Mare and the Scarlet Guard-a world that is on an even larger scale I can’t even imagine and one that I can’t wait to embark on that journey with Mare. 

Awesome or nah:

β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

( 5 ‘Red & Silvers’ out of 5)

Get the physical copy of Red Queen here on Amazon,

Or here on Book Depository.

β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”

Have a wonderful day!

Love, JiaMing ❀️

