Review: I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

Oh my Clark Gable, it’s so good 😍 I’ve heard good things about it that’s why I went ahead to buy it as well when I was looking for a Harry Potter book ❀️ BEST. DECISION. EVER.

Ready? Leggo.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Title: I’ll Give You The Sun

Author: Jandy Nelson

Published: 2014

Reading Timeline: 3-6 June 2016

My rating:β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…βœ©

(4.5 suns out of 5)

Synopsis:

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them.

But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone elseβ€”an even more unpredictable new force in her life.

The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

—–

(I always try my best to give a spoiler-free review! So you can enjoy reading the book and my review with ease 😊)

—–

Review:

Overall: Seriously unputdownable! 😍 To me, this book is like a ninja. Silently powerful yet delivers a strong punch.

I feel like this book kicks you in the butt when you’re least aware of it. (Yes, I’m pretty proud of it since that’s as accurate as I can get to how I feel about this book.)

Plot:Β Holy shit, the plot that the characters of this book are going through is so dense, complicated and overlapping! I couldn’t handle it.

Characters:Β Noah, Jude, their mom, their dad, Brian, Guillermo, Oscar has their own problems, and you can’t help but sympathise each and every one of them thinking, “Dammit. Whyyyy.”

They are all very peculiar and dense in their own way. Sometimes you expect something but they will prove you wrong.

I would have gave it 5 stars since it’s very different from what I usually read and also very unique in the Contemporary Genre. But I feel like there is something missing.. So 4.5/5 it is!

Definitely a to-read and to-recommend πŸ™‚

img_5575

Done!

β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”

All my Social Media are linked at the Icons at the bottom of my blog page!
Have a wonderful day!

Love, Jia Ming ❀️

